top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Friend

We're Going To Paris - Ep1 : Making The Cut


Hello reader I’m back to do a series of reviews on the Amazon Prime Show ‘Making The Cut’ full of aspiring designers the winner receives one million dollars and their collection to be sold on Amazon. In Today’s episode I’m focusing on Designers JI Won, Martha and Esther.


In all American style we’re introduced to some budding and hopeful designers. Wearing the off cuts of Balenciaga and the shirts of Prada. It was definitely a step up from the more humble vintage throw ups and loud patterns from the early born Topshop and Topman of Project Runway. The special thing to see from this programme already is the diversity of the designers the clothes and in ages, ethnicities. It's a real stamp to a future of fashion.

The first runway show, is set in Paris. Amazon aren't holding back in the budget. The lives the designers live, are really interesting. From the most of humble backgrounds. But, full of experience from Oscar Della Renta, to Adidas, the scale of success is strong. Gosh bow did their get feet in those doors?! 

Anyway, back to the episode... the contestants arrive in the french studio. Contemporary and just urgh beautifully Paris. The contestants are briefed, by Mr Gunn. Two looks that represent brand identity. Gosh, from sequins to leather. This will be an interesting mix of outcomes. The winner of the first challenge, one of their more wearable looks will be automatically sold on Amazon. 


Though a designer should be creative and innovative. It should also be accessible and attractive to consumers in general. To have a broad scope that focuses on a particular trend or colour pallet will produce more commercial interest. Once the designers left the studio, the designers went fabric shopping. Those fabrics are what will make the look (obviously) BUT choose the wrong fabric and can make a look lumpy, tight, just wrong in all areas.

Already Sandler (Belgium Designer and contestant) and Sabato (Italian Designer and contestant) have already got me excited to see what they’ll be presenting to the panel. The designers continue to cut and shape. However, Martha Gottwald has got me slightly worried. Though she’s adventurous in her design concept. Shes got into her head a lot about the patterns as she’s not a garment constructer. Which is basically me if I continued a design course!

But what I learnt from my experience designing. Is that the silhouette and shape can always be simple. It's the design that captures the eye. 


Tim Gunn returned the next day to talk to the designers. JI Won (American Designer and

contestant) was first up, her commercial piece was about meshing different cultures together in a almost denim jacket silhouette. Using denim as a connection to her upbringing in Oklahoma and the shaping of the jacket to her Korean heritage. The jacket even before its finished, breathes so naturally, I basically want to add it to my eighty six other coats. The runway look was a extension of her commercial look. But its a little bit elaborate for not much time... 


Martha, enthusiasm at a hundred and the passion is there. From what her previous collections look like. The stamp and the staple is there. Its chic, fun and attractive. But seeing this cotton shed print is making feel queasy. The tone of the dress is very strong and the loudness of it can drown the concept completely. I really hope she pulls it out of the bag! Esther (German designer and contestant) Her looks are interesting and dynamic. She has a strong concept, my worry is that her looks are very different and I’m hoping she pulls it out of the bag!  


I love Tim Gunn, his passion is a volume to these designers. #TimTalk he naturally encourages the designers so much. And you can see how much he cares for them. 

After a little conversation between designers, the models step into the studio. Dressed, well somewhat dressed. The designer’s are coming to the closed of day two.


The next day, the designers are heading into their first runway. Ester, is starting from scratch. I’m worried for her, starting a look from scratch is just scary. I can feel the anxiety it's pumping all over the room. 




To the runway, under the most beautiful tower in the world. The first show is about to begin.  I’m rating the designers out of ten, from one the lowest and ten being the highest! 

And an overall thought of the three review designers look.  The judges this week, creative director and deisgner Joesph Altuzarra. And legend fashion editor Carine Noiteld, former editor French Vogue! And with a little bit of Richie, actor and creative director Nicole Richie and finally the legend, the icon Naomi Campbell! Well this is a huge line up for a first week. 


DESIGNERS SCORES

Meghan - 8

Sabato - 9

Sander - 9

Rinat - 7

Will - 6

Jonny - 8

Jasmine - 6

Josh - 5

Troy - 7

Ji Won - 7

I’m impressed by Ji Won’s pieces altogether. The commercial look has that trendy street style presence. Its modern and fun.  Runway look is a lot of white, it does have this plastic covid19 vibe. But, its brand focused and has this evolution from the commercial vibe. I hope she moves away from the Adidas collaboration aesthetic. I want to see more.   


Martha - 4

Martha, Martha, Martha. Well, what can I say. Runway, its too much. The fabric is flat, where the volume should be it's not there at all. I was so worried about her choosing those fabrics. I see the concept, but I think with the use of more compatible fabrics. The outcome could have flourished. The commercial outfit has a strong statement. I can’t stand the house / garden shed print. Leave that to the designers of Cath Kidson. The shaping was off. I really love her previous work, maybe bringing a similar aesthetic would have worked.



Esther - 8

Commercial garment, simple but chic. Considering she was rushing to get one outfit completed ten minutes before the show. I’m impressed. Its chic, the use of fabric is really lovely its simple but effortless.

The runway outcome is elaborate and has that fashion forward approach which I love. And it has this strong presence on the runway with the mix of a strong concept in design. I really like it!

The tensions are high for the first elimination! To see these legends for judges is just amazing. Heidi drops the rule if she thinks the designer isn’t worth the cut, they can be cut!  Jasmine, was the first to be cut. My mouth just dropped I was gob smacked. Project Runway was flung right out of the window.

Martha was next up, the looks were unfinished to me. Naomi took the words straight from my mouth. The looks were just a little messy. The judges were swaying both ways. 

I just thought they lacked anything I had seen previously from her online. But Martha made the cut, so I hope I see more from her! 

Ji was next, I had really loved her connection between her heritage and her upbringing. The vision was strong, the looks were trendy. And to see her evolve in the competition.  


After was Esther, I was pleasantly surprised. The designs were creative, they had a story. Though she wobbled, she pulled it out of the bag. She achieved this classic and cool garments. The presentation was tight and both looks worked well together. And she won the first challenge! 


For the first challenge, they had done so well. And produced some brilliant garments. 

I can’t wait for the next episode, I shall see you then. 

bottom of page