top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Friend

Creative Types Don’t Work Well? Ep 3- Making The Cut

Updated: May 19, 2020


Welcome back readers to another Making The Cut episode recap, today I’m reviewing episode three and after the dramatics from last week. The tension is growing and with a win from Esther last week, who knows what will happen this week. At the beginning of episode three, Tim and Heidi meet the designers at the Pont de l’Alma bridge. Where will be the next location of their fashion show. This week is all about collaboration, which is a massive deal within fashion from Vivienne Westwood and Burberry to many more.

This collection is all about being collaborative merging two aesthetics and delivering high class fashion and displaying a solid identity. The overall points will be judged by the designer as singles not as a team. This week I will be reviewing Megan and Jonny, Sabato and Sander and Troy and Josh. Seeing these very opposing aesthetics, will be pumping up the volume and maybe the ego’s.


Sabato and Sander, is a match made in heaven. Known as Babi and Papi, I can’t wait to see what we will see from them. Jonny and Megan, after Jonny’s heated exchange with the judges last week has me slightly worried. Josh and Troy, I’m excited to see what they pull off. They have gone under the radar so far, I want to see what they pull off.


The designers hit the fabric store, Jonny and Megan have a strong contrast of fabrics. I’m definitely intrigued. Papi and Babi (Sabato and Sander) need to move away from BLACK! Troy and Josh, have managed to buy every fabric in the store. So I’m hoping they get a message across through the loud noise of fabric choices.


Megan is cutting away, her and Jonny are making this very female empowered suit. But they’re working well so far, very much in harmony. Sander is almost fathering Sabato when it comes patten making, sort of cute but let’s not make a habit of it (like pattern cutting is my strength.) As I hope they can work naturally and almost father and son like bond and not growing in tension. Troy and Josh are working well, but as they got all the fabrics out from the bag. I was slightly nervous.


Cutting to Heidi and Tim’s date, these two besties decided to get their caricatures done in a quint Parisian road. The artist can’t see neither of them, him trusting the words of them. The meaning is that teams have to guide each over, it’s a slight undertone of the episode.


The next day, Sabato and Sander came into the studio, and their patterns weren’t sewed overnight due, to Sabato putting them into one bag (when each designers get one sewers each!) I feel for Sabato because it’s a common mistake (I would definitely make that mistake.) Troy and Josh are hard at work, looking at their pattern, fabric choices it’s loud the designs seem to have some sort of concept, but I’m slightly worried.

Back to Megan and Josh, they are reviewing before their #timtalk they are both control freaks and you can see that through them wanting to make decisions.


Sabato and Sander are first up, this pairing is my favourite. With Sabato’s subtle and graceful presentation in contrasts to Sanders exaggerated and loud presentation it’s a merge I’m excited to see. Their pieces are interesting, Tim does explains this really well the cohesion of these three outcomes needs to be present throughout, if you’re adding colour to one it has to be added and reworked into other designs.

There has to be a natural development. I see it as like walking up stairs, most of the time you can one stair and you get to the top of the stair case, you only jump two stairs up and you miss that step. And it can be that one step that ruins what needed to be seen.


Next up is Jonny and Megan, their concept is easy glamour. Tim cuts the small talk,”it looks like Megan, this looks like you.” Ouch. Hit Jonny when he is down. “We have to fix it” Megan mentions. You can see the power struggle between the two of them. Because Jonny wants to bounce back. And Megan wants to step up. The little nag encounter happens, they want very different outcomes. I’m praying.


“We have a lot of fabrics, a lot of print” Josh mentions to Tim. I am so worried right now, the garments look amazingly constructed but it looks like the whole fabric store is involved in these three looks. “We didn’t want to much explosion” Troy comments, I can see Tim panicking. And I’m trying to take it in. These patterns could work, but they are very fixated on this white company looking fabric and personally that needs to stay on the curtain you found it. But here is too hoping.


Tim leaves and these designers are all over the walls, Sabato and Sander are starting to put their comments into play. The outcomes look amazing. Jonny and Megan’s look are interesting, I’m getting low key early 2010’s vibes. Troy and Josh, I’m full from just looking at it. I’m interested to see what Naomi thinks!



The next day, the designers are busy on their finishings. Doing all they can to finish the looks. Based on the river side of Paris, the setting is so chic, so beautiful. And the judges are arriving and I feel so nervous about this runway show.


The third runway show is about to begin. I’m rating the designers out of ten, from one the lowest and ten being the highest! And an overall thought of the three review designers look. The judges this week are creative director and designer Joesph Altuzarra. And legend fashion editor Carine Noiteld, former editor French Vogue! And with a little bit of Richie, actor and creative director Nicole Richie and finally the legend, the icon Naomi Campbell!

Ji Wo and Rinat - 8

Will and Esther - 6


Jonny and Megan - 7


Jonny and Megan’s first look is simple it’s stylish. It’s really well executed and you can see a healthy balance of both voices. The next look continues that it’s bold and has this modern female empowered presence. In the pattern choice and in the silhouettes it has this very bold but easy going vibe it’s pleasant to see in two garments. Finishing off with their commercial look, it’s got a clear cohesion and it would sell so well online and in store, all three looks would. I was expecting a little bit more from them concept wise, because I feel like I have seen similar shapes and textures. But overall it was a good, coherent collaboration. It was a 50/50 mix of each designer and that’s what its meant to be. But I think it personally lacked personality and strong concept.


Troy and Josh - 4


I was right to be worried about these looks, reader it was just too much. The first look was very complex. Bold yes, but far too much boldness can leave a lot of confusion. The accessible outfit, is just too much. In the aspect of the style of the patterns it just doesn’t blend. So far, I’m gutted I thought it they would almost blend nicely together (their aesthetics not the fabrics.) What was to come was just a lot. This jumpsuit was so unflattering the mixing of the fabrics it just looked so off. I was just thinking “what is that?” I could only imagine what the judges must have felt.



Sabato and Sander - 10


This was the collection I was looking so forward to seeing, Sander and Sabato have worked well together. Sander did pull more weight in the construction end, so I do think this could go either way. Their first look from their collection, I ADORE! The fabric they chose is just amazing. It is so elegant and structured and tailored so well. Look two for the runway, the chocolatey texture of the fabric. It’s oozes this style and dominance but quiet presence, I love it. The drama, finishes with accessible look. The tailoring of the jacket and beauty of the drop of fabric is just incredible. You can see a healthy balance of Sabato and Sander.



What a rollercoaster of a show, if I feel the way I felt about these designs. I can only think what the judges think. I’m worried for Troy and Josh, really worried. Excited for Sabato and Sander. The judges will be critiquing the designers individually and not as a team.


Starting with Megan and Jonny, overall the looks had a presence of both designers. But I wasn’t surprised or really excited about the garments overall. I was so happy to Jonny bounce back, because he is so talented. They had a middle ground that worked well, the style was easy and can work with the modern day woman.


Next Papi and Babi, had such a strong collection. This soft noise, made a very harmonised collection. It oozed sophistication. It was cool and fun, but also had this dramatic presence. The fluidity throughout was apparent and noticeable. I was so happy they won this week’s challenge! So HAPPY! Finally Sabato wins.


Finally with Josh and Troy, I was hoping they would naturally blend together. But I was just overwhelmed with their collection. Each pieces were definitely ambitious, they had no connection. It has gone so far in opposite directions, though women and men like to clash in prints. You have compliment each over somehow. Josh decides to remove himself from the competition. I was shocked. I though he had more fight in him. A little bit speechless. After Josh exits, it’s down to Troy to fight for his place in the competition. And it’s left there. To be continued.

I shall see you next week readers, until then keep fabulous.

bottom of page