top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Friend

How Often Do You Buy Clothes?

Updated: Feb 17, 2020





gif

Like the title asks, how often do you buy clothes? Well, reader, it does make one think of how often I do. Because I’m ashamed to say that I like shopping and feel the world simply needs me to shop because I need more love from my clothes. Yes, it isn’t the most sustainable answer I agree, but shopping is a natural hobby of mine.


I remember the first time I went clothes shopping, I had gone to town with my Mum and my Nonna. Where I was introduced to the world of retail and all it had to offer (at the time for menswear, it was limited in my eyes.) Though my mum loves a good shop now and again, I know where I get these habits from and it comes from Joy to the world (that’s my Nonna) Joy! We’re awful influences on each-over, where I grew my wardrobe full of coats, she had been filling hers for centuries, from the eighty-nine blouses, a hundred and thirty-two pairs of shoes. My Nonna well, she shops a lot. We call each over the magpies we just manage to find the best.


Yes, reader, this might not be the best for my bank but I’m a shopaholic and it is tame compared to some people I know. One of my resolutions this year is to be a lot more careful when it comes to purchasing items of clothing. Whilst studying in Cornwall, I was buying a lot of vintage and second-hand buys from Depop. Though we didn’t have the continuous availability of a productive high-street. It was the internet that saved me from my shopping sadness. ASOS became a prominent companion. Although I love vintage clothing and going to Kilo Sales. I often find they charge more that would retail stores do. They are right, it is more ethical but how ethical is £49 for a viscose shirt decorated in a 1980’s print? At some point, that shirt was hung in a shop a bought multiple times before it was placed in a Cornish corner.



Anyway, besides that, I point made. Trends are always changing and with the constant gorilla advertising and pestering sale emails. I thought, how often do I need to buy clothes? Though they are there on my hangers, worn maybe photographed multiple times. What has its purpose been to me and how often do I wear them? Well, their purpose helps a now young man present to the world who I am and how I want others to perceive me. Like it served a purpose for me when I first started shopping, it was all about finding my identity through fashion.


Truth be told, men's fashion in two thousand and eleven, was very limited in my eyes. When I was that age, I wore a lot of scarfs (layering was on point, in some outfits!) A lot of brighter colours, my wardrobe was full of denim pieces, printed t-shirts, the odd baggy jumper, and the boots. Casual wasn’t really a word I liked. And no matter how often I bought clothes, casual never came into my mind. I wanted to make a statement (and I did) but this teenage boy wanted the world to accept his bold fashion choices. Although some didn’t, I continuously didn’t care.



Fashion served a purpose then and still does to this day, though I could be a wee bit excessive when it comes to purchasing clothes. I have learned that you can do it more ethically and make a difference to your bank account but your wardrobe. Making small changes in your purchasing can help. I’ve noticed a lot more recently, that the state of my clothes is more uniformed. As my style has evolved as my Dad say’s ‘matured’ I have seen the clothes that helped me here, I thought what can do to move those clothes. Instead of moving that to charity shops, Depop platforms, etc. I thought I could share my clothes across this platform or be part of a swap sale?


Though that strays from the topic conversation, it is something to think about. Looking at the topic of conversation, I have bought clothes because of season changes or just a little treat for myself but I think whats made my mind tick about how many I buy, is that though it may bring me joy. It’s not really helping the environment. Though your welcome to buy all you like, sometimes a simple love heart is all that is needed. So the next time you think of a big shop, maybe think ‘do I need those shoes, that bag?’

Think and shop carefully.


bottom of page