top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Friend

THE TOP 5 NETFLIX BINGES


Hello, my lovely readers, welcome back to another blog post. I hope you’re all doing well during isolation and that you have been keeping yourself busy. I always find when I’m having a lazy day or weekend, the best thing sometimes is just to binge watch everything on TV, from Disney Plus to the Real Housewives it’s just has to be done sometimes, am I right or am I right?

Today, I thought I would give you five series that you have be watching on Netflix. If you don’t have Netflix, you have to get it. It’s one of the most popular if not most popular tv programme streaming platforms ever. And I’m pretty surprised during isolation, this platform hasn’t gone in override (I’m looking at you Amazon, don’t let it happen again!)

So, without further ado here is my top five Netflix binges!


NUMBER 5 –RUPAUL DRAG RACE


I know a typical idea from me, but it’s pure television gold with over 12 series to watch. It’s a no brainer that RuPaul’s Drag Race would make this elite television cut. A competition that combines the America’s next top model and Project Runway into one with a whole lot of tea, drama and some seriously bad (and hilarious) impressions of celebrities and when I say bad (Beyoncé just hasn’t been a successful try… yet, but I am not holding out on it!)

The best thing about this programme, when they untuck that’s when the drama really happens. However, if you live in other parts of the world and UK it can be hard to get a taste of untucked (you lucky American’s!) But with a lip-sync battle to keep one girl in and kick one out the door. It’s fantastic binge, so if you haven’t had a cheeky watch, then girl you’re only getting half the story.



NUMBER 4 – NEXT IN FASHION


Gosh, this me all over. A competitive fashion designing competition hosted by Alexa Chung and by an inspiration of mine Tan France. This fashion design competition allows some of the best unknown names in Fashion compete the title, $250,000 to start their business and to have their collection stocked with none over fashion e-commerce legend Net-A-Porter. This competition sees the designer’s pair as teams to whittle them down the final two. With guest judges such as Kerby Jean Raymond and Monique Lhuillier, this competition is a serious binge for any fashion lovers out there!


NUMBER 3 – MIRANDA


Something to make you cry with laughter from someone who was doing social isolation before COVID19 rocked the world. Miranda Hart doesn’t need any introduction, a comedy actor who writes and performs comedy gold. With three complete series, there’s enough for you to binge on. With her fruit friends, guest appearances from Gary Barlow and her unconditional love for cake, I firmly believe that we all have a just a little piece of Miranda in us (wait, did I just say that. Yes, reader yes, I did!) We first meet Miranda single and fabulous, with a knaggy Mother Penny and in her search for completion and quite frankly cake.


NUMBER 2 – MODERN FAMILY

Now, we’re down to the final two. If you haven’t watched the above, I understand that people have different tastes, some better than others (i.e mine is better.) But if you haven’t even watched one of the Modern Family episodes, have you been living under a rock!? This programme holds a very special place in mine and my familie’s heart, as it came out around in quite a difficult time. It was very much needed after that, for its laughter and just pure love. Modern Family is based upon a family with very colourful characters, from the stressed Mom and young and hip wannabe Dad, Claire and Phil Dumpfy bringing up their three children Hayley, Alex and Luke. Along with Claire’s brother Mitch and his partner Cam (basically me, if I let myself go) flying that pride flag high and strong, along with their adopted daughter Lily and finishing off with Claire and Mitch’s dad Jay and his new young, sexy Colombian wife Gloria and her sonny Manny. This tv programme is full of laughter and love and the real adaptation of a modern family. This is just what you need everyday weeknight and weekend.


NUMBER 1 – DEAD TO ME


Going down a little darker path for my final pick today, this is something my mum and I started when it first came out last year. A dark comedy, it reminds my mum of a modern-day Thelma and Louise. It’s story hits with a dark opening, but physiologically it twists and turns the thinking process of many things that happen throughout this two-season series. We meet Judy and Jen and from there it just twists and turns and well it’s just bonkers mad and crazy but I this is without a doubt my favourite Netflix series.



Well there you have it, my five top Netflix picks to watch. Let me know your thoughts on these, if you have suggestions let me know. I do love a good binge and what better time to be doing it! Anyway, keep safe, stay fabulous and have a glorious day.


Till then, with love

G X

bottom of page