top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Friend

My Evening at Piccolinos

Updated: Feb 21, 2020

Accompanied by champagne the dinner ticked every box, that’s my overall opinion of Piccolino’s. I was fortunate enough to be invited by Lois and the team at Piccolino’s for a meal and see what all the fuss was about!


Greeted at the door by Evie the marketing and sales manager at Piccolinos. The décor has this real city atmosphere, the luxurious green fitting, the crystal glasses sat perfectly for each diner that required a table. It was like the upper east side of New York had come to Bristol.


After taking a few swigs and glances around me, we started to browse the  menu. Piccolinos have a set dining menu for the evening. Full of choices, it was hard to pick the starting course let alone the main course. Akshita started with the perfect combination of Italian flavours, with the small but filling arancini the texture filled the pre-dinner plate spot. I decided to have the garlic enthused bread, with tomatoes filling. With its own bakery, I was able to have a fresh pan made

(JUST FOR ME!)


A natter and few clings of our flutes, we tucked into our main’s Akshita opted for the ravioli di Zucca, which had this creamy filming and smothered with parmesan. I went with the traditional (some may yawn) but you can’t go wrong with a Margherita.

It was a cheeky carb night ok! The best thing about the dishes is that it had this modern take on Italian dishes (don’t worry Nonna, nothing beats your home-cooked food!) But it served such delight.


As we continued with our dinners, a little head peeped through the door. Talented musical gal pal, Lisa came and joined us for a glass. To which the waiters were only too happy to serve. One thing for me that goes a long way is good customer service and the staff at Piccolino’s went above and beyond to make me and my guests feel comfortable, like we we’re at home.


Continuing into our bottle, we relaxed to the jazz-inspired British music hits, from two

become one a Spice Girls favourite and a bit of Diana Ross. It was like they knew I was coming to dine. As the bottle was getting lower and lower with champagne. I thanked the team for a very relaxing and enjoyable evening.


Overall, I can’t fault this evening. From the champagne to the food to the unexpected Diana Ross adlibs. This evening was fantastic, it was a great way to start my weekend. If you’re looking for an atmospheric and relaxing dinner date, then this is the place to go. Filled with Italian influences with a hint of Sex in The City feels then book your table now. I have left the link below, head to my Instagram page to see what I got up!


I’ll see you in the next post!


bottom of page